Rivers Hoopers are FMYSD Final 8 Champions

River Hoopers Basketball Club rallied from a slow start in the first quarter to defeat Gombe Bulls 74-57, to emerge champions of the Federal Ministry for Youth & Sports Development (FMYSD) Final 8.

In the final played at the Indoor Sports Hall, Moshood Abiola Stadium in Abuja on Tuesday, the Kingsmen trailed by 6 points (6-12) with 5 minutes into the first quarter but bounced back in the second quarter scoring 36 points as the Bulls managed 31.

Rivers Hoopers went wild in the second half putting the game beyond reach for Gombe Bulls, as they reduced the latter to just 26 points against 38 points made by Hoopers.

Despite missing Emmanuel Balogun to injury early in the game, Victor Anthony Koko stepped up to help close out the encounter. Koko went off for a double-double 14 points, 10 rebounds, 4 Blocks and 2 steals, capping a man of the match display. 

The trio of Johnson Anaiye (12), Oriakhi Owen (10), and Buchi Nwaiwu (10) combined for 32 points, for the Port Harcourt based side.

Oriakhi Owen was awarded a medal for scoring the highest points in the tournament, he was also included in the championship best five alongside Johnson Anaiye who was crowned the MVP of the tournament.

Earlier, Kano Pillars beat Nigeria Customs 82-64 in the third-place game.


Final MVP – Victor Anthony Koko

Tournament MVP- Johnson Anaiye

Highest Scorer- Owen Oriakhi

Highest rebounder- Ben Akhutie

Best three-point shooter- Abdulwahab Yakubu

Fair Play award- Kwara Falcons

Top 5- Johnson Anaiye, Owen Oriakhi, Wisdom Anyaoha (Gombe), Michael Lordprince (Kwara), Ben Akhutie (Customs)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Most Popular

To Top