France crowned 2021 Nations League winners

World Champions, France beat Spain 2-1 in Milan to win the 2021 Euro Nations League.

The first edition of the competition was won by Portugal. Before this year’s final, Italy defeated Belgium 2-1 to win the third place encounter.

Spain took the lead through Mikel Oyarzabal, who shrugged off defender Dayot Upamecano to beat Hugo Lloris to make it 1-0.

France hit back two minutes later when Karim Benzema equalized with a stunning goal inside San Siro.

Kylian Mbappe made it 2-1 as he fired a contentious winner when he placed the ball beyond Unai Simon in goal for Spain. The goal went through VAR check because Mbappe seemed in an offside solution but it was later confirmed a goal because Spain’s Eric Garcia touched the ball before it got to him.

Lloris produced two late saves to deny Spain an equaliser.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top