Chelsea and Barcelona win big at UEFA Awards Night

Chelsea and FC Barcelona Femeni were the biggest winners of the 2020-21 UEFA Awards presented during the Champions League Group stage draw and Awards night held today in Istanbul, Turkey. 

Alexia Putellas (@alexiaps94) | Twitter

FC Barcelona’s midfielder Alexis Putellas and her manager  Lluis Cortes were presented with the player of the year and manager of the year awards respectively. However, none of the winners was present at the ceremony as they did not travel due to COVID-19 restrictions. 

Cassano: 'Jorginho agrees on Ballon d'Or scandal' - Football Italia

Chelsea stars, Jorginho and Ngolo Kante picked up the UEFA Player of the year and midfielder of the Year respectively while Goalkeeper Edouard Mendy was awarded as the best goalkeeper for the season in review. 

Chelsea coach, Thomas Tuchel also beat Euro 2020 winning Italian coach Roberto Mancini and Man City’s Pep Guardiola to the UEFA Coach of the Year award. 

The event began with the award of the Presidential Award to Danish team captain, Simon Kjaer and the Danish medical team for their quick intervention in saving the life of Christian Eriksen at the 2020 European Championships.

Agent once again confirms Jorginho not leaving Chelsea - We Ain't Got No  History

UEFA President Aleksandr Ceferin was on hand to present the Presidential Award. The award was presented to the Danish medical team doctor Morten Boesen, team physio Morten Skjoldager, Simon Kjær (Denmark national team captain). Other medics who received the Award include, Mogens Kreutzfeldt (chief medical officer), Frederik Flensted (stadium medical manager, Anders Boesen (pitchside emergency doctor), Peder Ersgaard (paramedic).

UEFA venue medical officers Jens Kleinfeld, and Valentin Velikov also received the award.

The UEFA Champions League Defender of the Season award followed the Pot 1 draw. Man City’s Ruben Dias won the men’s category, while Barcelona Femini’s Irene Paredes won the female category.

Manchester City's Ruben Dias wins FWA Footballer of Year

The UEFA Midfielder award followed, with Chelsea’s N’golo Kante pipping teammate Jorginho and Kevin De Bruyne to the award, while Alexia Putellas of FC Barcelona Femini picked up the award for the female category.

The UEFA Forward of the Season award was presented to Borussia Dortmund’s hitman Erling Haaland, while Barcelona Femini’s Jennifer Hermoso completed a clean sweep for the Catalan side.

The awards continued with the UEFA Women’s Manager of the year, with Barcelona Femini’s boss Lluis Cortes unsurprisingly picking the award, while Champions League winning manager Thomas Tuchel picked up the UEFA Men’s Manager of the Year award.

IN MY OWN WORDS: Alexia Putellas

FC Barcelona Femini’ midfielder, Alexis Putellas picked up the all-important UEFA Women’s Player of the Year award, while Champions League and 2020 European Championship winner, Jorginho picked up the UEFA Men’s Player of The Year award.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Most Popular

To Top