Bruno Fernandes named Man United player of the season again

Bruno Fernandes has been crowned Manchester United’s Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year to become the second Portuguese man to win the award. The former Sporting Lisbon man was announced as the winner of the award for the second successive season on Tuesday.

Fernandes claimed the accolade last season, despite only joining in January 2020. The Portugal international has followed it up with the top individual prize again for 2020/21 after fans voted in huge numbers. Manchester United fans across the world cast their votes via the official app of the club.

Fernandes wins Man Utd Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year award for 2019/20  | Manchester United

The award is undoubtedly well deserved as Bruno has enjoyed another remarkable campaign. Man United’s number 18 has scored 18 times in 36 Premier League games while adding another nine goals in Europe (Champions League and Europa League). His only goal in the Emirates FA Cup was the masterful free-kick winner against Liverpool.

His goals have helped Manchester United stay in second position in the Premier League log, a position they could cement if they beat Fulham on Tuesday. He has also helped his team mates find the back of the net by contributing 11 assists in the Premier League and a further five in Europe.

Bruno Fernandes is widely considered as the most creative and productive midfielder around at the moment. The Portugal international broke Frank Lampard’s goal record for a midfielder in the Premier League era with his latest strike against Liverpool.

Bruno beat full-back Luke Shaw and Uruguayan striker Edison Cavani to the main prize. He was a very convincing victor with 63 per cent of the votes cast. Mason Greenwood and Marcus Rashford finished in fourth and fifth respectively.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Most Popular

To Top